List Of Christian Countries In The World

The Christian faith is one of the largest religions in the world. With over 2 billion adherents, it is well ahead of Islam and Buddhism in terms of numbers. While Christianity has its origins in the Middle East and Europe, there are now many countries scattered throughout Africa, Asia and South America that are predominantly Christian.

List Of Christian Countries In The World

Vatican City

Vatican City is a country with a population of just over 800 people and it is located in the middle of Rome. It has its own postal service, army and laws. The city-state was established in 1929 by the Lateran Treaty between Italy and the Holy See after centuries of disputes.

Vatican City is the smallest country in the world by area but its land makes up almost one-third of Rome’s territory. Vatican City’s government consists of two parts: an executive branch led by a secretary-general (currently Italian Cardinal Pietro Parolin), which runs day-to-day affairs; and a legislative branch consisting of two consultative bodies: an electoral college for cardinals who vote for new popes or changes to canon law; and an assembly composed entirely of clergymen who act as counselors for the pope on matters such as ecumenism or social issues affecting Catholics worldwide.


Belarus is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe bordered by Russia to the north and east, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest. The capital city is Minsk.

The name “Belarus” originates from the name of this region: Belorussia or White Ruthenia that began under Polish influence. Historically, Belarus was part of Kievan Rus’ at times in between 13th century until 15th century when it became a vassal state of Lithuanian-Polish commonwealth before being annexed by Russia after 1795.

The discovery of oil reserves in 1959 prompted rapid industrial growth although agriculture remains important as well as forestry products such as wood pulp for paper production (see Economy below). In addition trade agreements are signed with other countries such as China where they export clothes and other textile materials back home again which means that we have many trading ties with them so there has been lots done here too

ALSO READ:  Prayer For The Devil


Malta is a small island country in the Mediterranean Sea, south of Italy. It’s known for its beautiful beaches, castles and historic buildings.

Malta became an independent republic in 1964. Today it has a parliamentary system with a president as head of state and prime minister as head of government.

Malta joined the European Union (EU) in 2004 and has since been working to implement EU rules on human rights, security and defense policy issues such as immigration control measures. The country participates actively in numerous international organizations such as NATO and United Nations peacekeeping operations


Cyprus is a country located in the eastern Mediterranean Sea. Cyprus is an island country in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea. Cyprus is a member of the European Union, and has been since 2004. It is also a member of the Commonwealth of Nations (or Commonwealth), which includes countries such as Australia, New Zealand and Canada among others that were once part of the British Empire.

Cyprus has been through its fair share of turmoil over recent years but has remained relatively stable despite these challenges thanks to careful management by its leadership and friendly relations with most other countries around it – including Turkey which surrounds it on three sides as well as Greece which borders its southern coast.


Romania is a country situated in the East of Europe. It is a member of the European Union and NATO. The capital city of Romania is Bucharest, which has a population of 2,173,114 (as at 1 January 2017).

Romania has a total area of 238,391 sq kilometers (92,043sq miles). The country shares its borders with Bulgaria to the south-east; Serbia and Hungary to the north-east; Ukraine and Moldova to the east; with Hungary and Slovakia on its western border; while having a coastline on both sides: Black Sea in north and Mediterranean Sea in south.

ALSO READ:  What Did Jesus Do When He Was Tempted


Brazil is a country in the southern part of the Americas, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, the South Pacific Ocean, Bolivia, Paraguay, Uruguay and Argentina. The largest country in both South America and Latin America as well as being one of its most diverse countries.

Brazil has an area of 851.528 square miles (2.147 million km) with a population of 205 million people (2017 estimate). The official language is Portuguese although there are many other languages spoken here such as English which is not uncommon in Brazil especially amongst younger generations growing up with television programs from abroad such as Hollywood movies or British TV series like Downton Abbey for example!.


Ethiopia is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, Kenya to the south, Sudan and South Sudan to the west and Egypt to the northwest. Ethiopia was formerly known as Abyssinia before achieving independence in 1941.

Ethiopia is considered a Christian country by most people because its population is predominantly followers of Christianity with over 80% being Orthodox Christians (which includes Coptic Christians), 7% Protestant Christians, 5% Roman Catholics and 2% other Christian denominations including Seventh-Day Adventists.[4] The country also has a Muslim minority that accounts for about 34% of its total population according to latest estimates.[5] The Orthodox Tewahedo Church has been established as Ethiopia’s official religion since its inception in Aksumite times (fourth century CE) in order to unite all Ethiopians under one faith during an era when they faced numerous attacks from neighboring countries such as Egypt which wanted control over their land.[6][7]

ALSO READ:  Return To Your First Love Ephesians


Uganda is a country in East Africa. Its population is about 38,689,000 people. Uganda’s capital city is Kampala. The official language of Uganda is English and it has been so since the 1960s. However, other languages like Luganda, Runyankole and Swahili are also used for communication purposes.

Uganda was a Christian country before 1962 when Islam became the second most popular religion after Christianity with 32%. Since then, this number has been decreasing to less than 20% by 2005 and only 15% as at 2007 (Central Intelligence Agency).

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka is an island country located off the southern coast of India. It has a population of about 21 million people and a Buddhist majority.

The island was originally inhabited by humans as early as 2,500 BCE and was known to the ancient Greeks as Erythraea. The Vijayanagara Empire controlled much of the island from 1343 to 1659 CE when they were defeated by Dutch colonists in 1796; Sri Lanka remained under Dutch rule until 1948 when it became independent from Great Britain. In 1972, Ceylon changed its name to Sri Lanka due to concerns over ethnic discrimination against Tamils (who make up about 10% of the country’s population).


Colombia is a country in northern South America, bordering both the Caribbean Sea and the North Pacific Ocean. With a population of around 48 million, Colombia has a Catholic majority.

Colombia is one of the countries with a large Christian population.

List Of Christian Countries In The World

  • List of Christian Countries In The World.
  • List of Muslim Countries In The World.


The list of Christian countries in the world is a long one. There are many countries around the globe that have a large Christian population. This article looked at some of those nations and provided their religious statistics.

Leave a Comment

You cannot copy content of this page